Menu

Health Foundation Awards $785,000 to Nonprofits Addressing Health Reform

Health Foundation Awards $785,000 to Nonprofits Addressing Health Reform

The Maine Health Access Foundation (MeHAF) awarded ten nonprofit organizations with funding to support advocacy work to preserve or expand health care coverage so that Maine people have access to quality, affordable health care.  These nonprofit organizations ensure the needs of uninsured, underserved and low-income people are considered as the state and national governments debate health reforms that will impact hundreds of thousands of Maine people.  The grants total $785,000 for projects that will continue through 2018.  

As leaders debate proposed health reforms, including the repeal and replacement of the Affordable Care Act as well as state and federal budgets that impact health coverage for families with low incomes, these grantees will work to ensure the voices of Maine’s most vulnerable people will be heard.  “Maine’s nonprofit health advocates provide critical data to help inform policy debates.  They also work to connect legislators with Maine people who can share how they will be impacted by future policy decisions,” said Barbara Leonard, President and CEO of MeHAF.  “Giving voice to Maine’s most vulnerable, including young children, older adults and people living with substance use disorder, is essential to developing good policy both at the state and national levels.”

MeHAF has consistently supported health advocacy work since 2010 and considers it a critical component to advancing its mission of promoting access to quality health care for those who are uninsured and underserved and improving the health of everyone in Maine.  “Effective policy is the cornerstone to improving health in Maine and to be effective it requires the input of those it will impact the most,” said MeHAF Program Officer Morgan Hynd.  “MeHAF is committed to supporting the work of Maine’s nonprofits to make this possible.”

Funded Organizations

AARP Foundation
Lori Parham, lparham@aarp.org, 207-776-6304

Consumers for Affordable Health Care
Emily Brostek, ebrostek@mainecahc.org, 207-622-7083

Down East AIDS Network
Kenney Miller, kenney@mainehealthequity.org, 207-460-2766

Maine Center for Economic Policy
Garrett Martin, gmartin@mecep.org, 207-622-7381

Maine Children’s Alliance
Claire Berkowitz, cberk@mekids.org, 207-623-1868 x206

Maine Equal Justice Partners
Robyn Merrill, rmerrill@mejp.org, 207-626-7058 x201

MaineHealth
Carol Zechman, zechmc@mainehealth.org, 207-662-7960

Maine Medical Education Trust
Gordon Smith, gsmith@mainemed.com, 207-622-3374 x212

Maine Migrant Health Program
Lisa Tapert, ltapert@mainemigrant.org, 207-622-9252

Maine People’s Resource Center
Amy Halsted, amy@mainepeoplesresourcecenter.org, 207-797-9207

Media Contact
Morgan Hynd, (207) 620-8266 x116, mhynd@mehaf.org

Thanks!

Thank you for contacting us!

Our group will review and follow up within 72 hours.
Thanks for your interest!

Back Home ×
×
×
×